Week at a Glance: 6/10/13

Hey, everyone! Something that I do every single week is plan out our dinner meals ahead of time. This saves me time and money in the grocery story, plus eliminates coming home and wondering what to make for dinner. I also try to plan out my workouts for the week and which days I can go to the gym. I figured why not transfer this planning over to the blog! Meal plan first!

  • Monday: Romaine, Feta, and Strawberry Salad w/ Balsamic Vinaigrette (this option looks really good, too)
  • Tuesday: Jacked Up Egg Salad Sandwiches (we use this recipe and eliminate the ham)
  • Wednesday: Panera Dinner Date w/ Lauri
  • Thursday: Bacon, Avocado, and Chicken Quesadillas
  • Friday: Concert in Brooklyn, will pick up something on the way

When I meal plan, I always think about the ingredients needed and try to ensure they won’t go to waste. For example, I knew we’d use half of an avocado on Tuesday, so when planning I made sure I had another meal where we could use up the other half. Wasted food is wasted money! As for workouts, I’m excited to share what’s on the fitness front for me…I decided to participate in the Fitnessista’s Summer Shape Up! Gina’s blog, The Fitnessista, is one I’ve been following for years. Every season she does a “shape up” program where she offers recipes and workouts. I’ve never participated before and am really glad I decided to jump on the bandwagon this time. (If you are interested in signing up, you can do so on this post; much more information can also be found here).

SSU-20132

What I love about this plan is that it combines strength and cardio, where all too often I’ll focus on just one or the other. A combination of both, for me, seems to be a key component that I often forget. Here’s what week 1 has in store for me.

SSUWeek1JPG

Basically, Gina provides you with one major workout for the week and pairs it with cardio options, which is all explained in detail on her blog. However, it is password protected, so if you want the info, you gotta sign up! I’m actually a week behind and will be completing Week 1 this week while everyone else is on Week 2. Oh well, better late than never!

I also love the flexibility of being able to see the full week in advance. Gina sends you the password and information on the Friday before the week starts so you have ample time to prepare. When I received the information, I rearranged the  workouts for fit my needs for the week. On Saturday, I completed Monday’s workout and on Sunday I completed Friday’s workout. I know I can only get to the gym this week Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, so I will fit the other three workouts in then. So how were the two workouts I did so far? Killer!! I even tweeted to the Fitnessista about them!

No joke! Plus I loved the HIIT because it forced me to watch the time to switch intensity, which made the workout fly by! I’m really looking forward to what else is in store :).

What’s on your meal plan for the week? Do you follow a fitness program like Summer Shape Up? Do tell!

6 thoughts on “Week at a Glance: 6/10/13

  1. I am doing the SSU as well! I just did Week 2’s Workout this morning. The ball moves are so tough! I hope I improve when I do it again later this week. :)

Leave a Reply

