Italian Home Cooking: Caprese

For those of you who don’t know, I used to have a blog called La Piattini (the little plate). I chose to delete it for personal reasons and it was one of my biggest regrets. What I miss the most is the cooking posts that I did with my mom. One of those was when she taught me how to make a simple, yet very delicious Italian Caprese recipe. I recovered this picture from that day, but many others got deleted. 

IMG_3174

I made this same recipe for my Memorial Day party and it’s a must share!

Caprese

Ingredients:

  • Fresh mozzarella (I used 1 1/2 half balls)
  • 2 beefsteak tomatoes
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • Olive oil
  • Basil
  • Salt and pepper

Slice your mozzarella and tomatoes into slightly thick slices. Lay tomato slices on a platter. Top with mozzarella slices, followed by fresh basil leaves.

Mince your garlic and sprinkle on top. Drizzle with olive oil. Lastly, sprinkle with salt and pepper.

IMG_3176

Simple and done!

Do you have different variations to caprese, such as using balsamic vinegar?

2 thoughts on “Italian Home Cooking: Caprese

  1. Pingback: The Italian Diaries – Massa Lubrense | The Brooklyn Fig

Leave a Reply

