Fitness Survey

I read this survey on Julie’s blog recently and thought it would be fun to complete! Hopefully it shares a little bit more about myself and my fitness philosophies!

1. What did you eat for breakfast?

A giant yogurt bowl. I literally have this once a day in the summer, whether for breakfast or lunch. I switch up the flavor of yogurt, the nut butter, and the fruit to make in more interesting.

IMG_3441

This particular bowl has strawberry Chobani, blueberries, Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut butter (holy amazeballs), and Bare Naked Peak Protein granola.

2. How much water do you drink a day?

Not as much as I should. I tend to drink much more water in the summer because I have the freedom to pee. Ridiculous sounding? Maybe. But as a teacher, I can only go to the bathroom at certain times so downing water is not an option!

3. What is your current favorite workout?

Spinning. Always has been, always will be!

4. How many calories do you eat a day?

I’m not 100% sure. I used to use My Fitness Pal to track all caloric intake and then it was 1,290 a day, which was completely feasible for me. If I had to guess I’d say about 1,400.

5. What are your favorite healthy snacks?

Hummus and veggies. Fruit, especially watermelon. I tend to stick with anything “clean” and avoid processed snacks. Recently I’ve been enjoying Boom Chicka Pop, which is a clean popcorn- very tasty.

6. What do you usually eat for lunch?

During the school year, my lunch almost everyday is a turkey and provolone sandwich on whole wheat bread with spicy mustard. Never gets old for me!

7. What is your favorite body part to strength train?

I have a love/hate relationship with training my legs. Legs (in particular, thighs) are a major trouble spot for me, so I try to work them the most and absolutely love when I feel muscle soreness because I know it’s working! However, I rarely see progress there, so it becomes discouraging.

IMG_0286(doing bear crawls at the beach)

8. What is your least favorite body part to strength train?

See above.

9. What are your “bad” food cravings?

I strongly believe in not denying ourselves and eating everything in moderation, so the term “bad” craving doesn’t jive too well with me. However, I have a major sweet tooth that all too often gets indulged! I swear, there’s a second stomach in there because I’m never too full for dessert!

IMG_3813

10. Do you take vitamins or supplements?

Yes! I take adult gummy vitamins. Laugh it up, but I won’t take vitamins unless there’s something in it for me!

11. How often do you eat out?

We absolutely love eating out and going on date nights, but keep it to once or twice a week, typically on the weekends. I don’t tend to meal plan on the weekends because we’ll either have leftovers or go out.

12. Do you eat fast food?

Not at all. Have no desire for it. Although there are certain smaller chains that I love, such as Chipotle. But as far as McDonalds, Wendy’s etc…never.

13. Who is your biggest supporter?

My husband. He is honest, listens to every struggle, and is there for me 100% of the time.

IMG_3771

14. Do you have a gym membership?

Yes. We have a couple’s membership and receive a discount through my teacher’s union. We used to just use our home gym, but missed the cardio and group fitness piece.

15. How many hours of sleep do you get a night?

A lot! I loveee sleeping and get 8-10 hours a night.

16. Do you have a “cheat” day?

Not necessarily but I’m definitely more lax about my nutrition on the weekends and holidays.

17. Do you drink alcohol?

Big vino drinker right here! One of my favorite things to do is go to wine festivals, wine tastings, and to visit local vineyards.

304890_673967641504_1250808_n

I also don’t mind social drinking, but many times when we’re out I stick with water.

258494_647446185714_1287168_o

18. Do you have a workout buddy?

On the weekends Pete and I will go to the gym together but we really don’t workout together, we do our own thing. However, we’ve accomplished certain fitness goals together, as we’ve completed a race together as well as the Couch-to-5K program.

59639_590905164374_5467780_n

I’ve never really been the type of person who can be social during workouts, I’m too in my zone!

19. What is the best thing that has changed about your life since committing to a healthy lifestyle?

I’d say it’s made me open to new things. Whether it’s trying a new fitness class or a new vegetable at the farmer’s market, I am always looking for ways to better myself and my health. And that’s a huge positive.

63833_588621585684_3334560_n

20. What was the last healthy thing you did?

Bought a Living Social deal for a yoga studio near my house. I went for my first class yesterday and enjoyed it. The instructor was very gentle and caring, while still providing a challenge and options for all members. I’m looking forward to retuning next week!

Let’s here some of your answers!

11 thoughts on “Fitness Survey

  1. I love how you and your husband train and workout together. I always ask my bf to go on a run with me, but he rather do circuit training. I can’t complain, at least we’re both working out some how!

    • Agreed! When I used to run, I always enjoyed it more when he was there, just because it can get so boring! I enjoy circuit training too because it keeps me entertained!

  2. I found your blog from Nicole’s blog…love the concept! I’m also a huge wine gal myself. A glass with dinner somehow always makes the day end smoothly 😉

  3. I love surveys like this! it’s so fun getting to learn a little more about the blogger, especially since this is my first time to your blog. i love gummy vitamins too! and thats awesome you tried yoga. i used to be really into it but then i swapped my yoga studio membership for my bar method studio, and havent done much yoga since.

  4. Thanks for your comment on my blog!
    Oh that yogurt bowl look truly amazing! Everything you added to it sounds fantastic on its own so I bet they’re even better when they’re all together 🙂
    And I love your answer to the “bad” food craving question. I totally agree with you. And also like you, I always seem to have room for dessert 😉

  5. I’m such a sleeper, too! I need a minimum of 8, but I would take 9 or 10. All of my friend’s call me a grandma because I go to sleep early on the days where I work during the day, but I’d rather be well rested than struggling to stay awake behine a desk for 8.5 hours!

  6. Pingback: Burning Legs Workout | The Brooklyn Fig

Leave a Reply

