July Obsessions

Besides obsessing over fashion, there is much more that has interested me this month. I typically enjoy reading “favorites” posts by bloggers because they often introduce me to new blogs, books, stores, ideas, etc. So here is my take at a July Obsessions post!

Young House Love

As you may have noticed, we’ve been doing a lot of mini house projects lately. We’ve been hunting for design for our big blue wall and we finally got our bookshelf looking how we want. But there is so much more we want to do!

Young-House-Love-DIYs(source)

I discovered the blog Young House Love when reading HGTV Magazine. The blog is run by a young couple who are living in their third house. When they bought their first house (a ranch, just like us!) they found themselves making over rooms and doing their own projects and design, all while being on a budget. They are major DIYers with no formal training and post about all of their house projects, whether big or small, flops or successes. Their blog is very inspirational and makes me feel like if I could just get over my fear of failure at DIY, there is probably a lot I could do on my own!

HGTV Design Star

Speaking of HGTV, we’ve been watching the current season of HGTV Design Star. I’ve never watched this show before and feel like I have definitely been missing out! I’ve gotten so many decorating ideas and home improvement tips from the designers on the show.

Untitled11(source)

The season finale was this past Sunday. My vote was for Brooks, they crazy guy all the way on the right with the beard! He’s not that great with the camera challenges, but has such a unique twist on design. Plus, he’s from Brooklyn! I’m not going to tell you who wins, just in case you decide to watch the series.

There is just one thing that bothers me a bit about the show though…when working on a room or design, there is never a budget. So basically they just walk into stores like West Elm and get whatever they want/need to make their vision. Heck, I could make my house pretty darn awesome too with an unlimited budget! So I’d definitely like to see an episode in the future where they are given monetary restrictions.

Stewarts Root Beer

Random, I know. But believe it or not, I had never been to a Stewart’s Root Beer until last week. At least I don’t think I have. There was one in my hometown but I don’t recall ever going. Anyways, we went with Pete’s parents last week for dinner and I was blown away. For such a simple meal, it was outstanding.

IMG_3711

I went with a Pesto Grilled Cheese which had tomato slices, mozzarella, and pesto on whole wheat bread. Alongside were some delicious fries.

IMG_3712

The star of the show was definitely the Peanut Butter Sundae. I can’t tell you the last time I actually ordered a sundae anywhere. I forgot what I was missing out on!

IMG_3713

It was really pleasant sitting outside on their picnic tables, listening to their music, chatting, and enjoying the food. Will definitely go there again…soon!

Classy Girls Wear Pearls

This is another blog I found a few weeks ago and have basically been stalking. Sarah Vickers is a New England gal with an amazing sense of style. She wears a lot of J Crew, so she is definitely a girl after my own heart!

Fish Bones 4 small(source)

The pictures on her blog are amazing with scenic backgrounds, close-ups on details, and just simply fun. I’ve gotten a lot of great fashion ideas from her and have definitely bookmarked this blog.

So tell me, what are some of your July obsessions?

5 thoughts on “July Obsessions

  1. I just wanted to thank you for stopping by and leaving such a wonderful comment. This is the first opportunity I’ve had to design a room from the ground up so it’s really rewarding to get such positive feedback from around blogland. I’m about to embark on my kitchen renovation that will expand its footprint into my old bathroom and pantry. You can see my original kitchen makeover in this recent post on Tokyo Jinja blog. Just look for the scrambled eggs and band-aids color scheme: http://tokyojinja.com/2013/07/18/beach-house-kitchen-diary-part-3-cheap-and-cheerful-renovation-inspiration/ Thanks again for stopping by! Steve

Leave a Reply

