Italian American Fair

Recently when I was browsing around online, I came across an advertisement for an Italian American fair in the town located next to my parent’s. It immediately caught my eye because, well, I’m Italian…love fairs…and love Italian food! I coordinated with my sister, brother, and parents and we choose a night to go. Let’s be honest, I was just excited for the zeppoles ;).

IMG_4146

Upon walking in, it was a bit smaller than I thought it would be. At first glance, we noticed a few rides, a couple of food stands, and some carnival games. First up was a bit of browsing at the stands, where my dad purchased an Italian flag magnet for the back of his car.

IMG_4136

Then, we headed over to the rides. My sister and her husband brought their two kids and it was great to watch their excitement. 

One of the rides you couldn’t miss was the Ring of Fire.

IMG_4150

Surprisingly, my six year old niece really wanted to go on! Now, I can do roller coasters with loops…but rides that are literally just a single loop over and over again…no thank you, sir. So instead, hubby and I just posed all nice and pretty in front of the ride!

IMG_4152

But my sister, brother, and niece headed up the ladder to their doom.

IMG_4153

Bella, my niece, came off with a huge smile on her face asking if she could go again! Rides like this…

IMG_4142

…are clearly not up her alley!

As for my nephew, my brother took him on a ride similar to a Tilt-a-Whirl, but at a slower pace for a little guy.

IMG_4148

He enjoyed it! And I just love that picture with the two of them looking at each other- so cute!

Next up were some games. Pete and I tried to teach the kids had to play Frog Bog, but to no success!

IMG_4161

Now the squirt game was another story!

IMG_4162

We played a few times and both Pete and I won, which was great because we were able to get each of the kids a prize. 

IMG_4166

Sorry, bro…despite your intense face we still beat ya ;).

IMG_4141

Speaking of my bro, he was feeling affectionate and gave me a big bear hug and kiss- a rarity!

Finally, we ended the night with some delicious zeppoles.

IMG_4168

They are my favorite Italian treat. If you’ve ever gone (or go) to Italy, the zeppoles are very different there. In Italy, it’s more of a doughnut consistency with regular (not powdered) sugar sprinkled on top. They melt in your mouth- there’s really nothing like it.

IMG_4169

But I’ll still take a close second with American zepps! (Hello, disembodied hand).

All in all, a fun family night at the fair!

Do you enjoy going to fair during the summer?

What is a food you’ve had in the native country that is very different in America?

 

7 thoughts on “Italian American Fair

  1. we should start going every year 🙂 Although I wish they had more food vendors.. Not sure what that was all about considering it was supposed to be an italian american fair but the kids had fun, and we did too, so that’s all that matters!

Leave a Reply

