Fig Success

Remember a few weeks back when my mom and I found my nonno’s tree full of unripened figs? Well over the holiday weekend, we were successful!

IMG_4203

It’s become one of our Labor Day traditions to visit Brooklyn on the Saturday of Labor Day weekend. My parents, husband, and I drove in with plans of fig picking, shopping at the market, and Spumoni Gardens.

IMG_4205

When we got to my grandparent’s house, Pete and my dad headed into the garden to start getting the figs down…

IMG_4199

…but the ripe figs were up really high! However, they did a really good job because in the end we had quite the bounty.

IMG_4210

Luckily the tenant was there to get a family shot! I really love this picture- it’s one of my new favorites.

IMG_4211

Once we had our basket full of figs, we drove to 86th Street.

IMG_4213

86th Street is a very busy road lined with outdoor produce markets.

IMG_4216

They have great, fresh produce for excellent prices. For example, we bought 3 pints of raspberries for $2. We can’t even get one for that price at our markets!

IMG_4217

Last stop was Spumoni Gardens- it was Pete’s first time! I was really looking forward to him trying the spumoni ice, but first we had some pizza slices for lunch.

IMG_4218

Afterwards, we all enjoyed a refreshing rainbow spumoni ice- just to die for!

Recently Updated20

We were actually prepared with a cooler to buy two quarts and a pint to bring home- we love it that much!

The Saturday of Labor Day weekend is easily one of my favorite days of the year. I’d say there’s 2 days above it…Christmas Eve and the Sunday of Labor Day weekend. Want to know what happens then? Well, you’ll have to drop by tomorrow. But I’ll give you a hint. It involved a lot of vino ;).

Does your family have any Labor Day weekend traditions?

Have you been enjoying fresh figs this season?

3 thoughts on “Fig Success

Leave a Reply

