Food Prep for the Week

Today marks the start of my 7th year of teaching! Happy First Day of School!

The start of the school year always requires an adjustment from having the summer off. One of the main things to get accustomed to is a new workout schedule and planning how that affects cooking dinner. In the past, I’d leave school, workout for about an hour, rush home worrying about when I was going to shower, cook dinner, shower, do my hair…and be completely exhausted. I’m trying to avoid that as much as possible. Hence, food prep.

Before deciding the meals I’m going to make for the week, I needed to come up with a school year gym schedule. Here’s what I’m planning for:

  • Monday: BodyPump 5:00
  • Tuesday: Yoga 4:30
  • Wednesday: Weight Training at home
  • Thursday: Spinning 4:30
  • Friday: off
  • Saturday: Spinning 9:30
  • Sunday: off or BodyPump 9:30

By having my schedule planned out in advance, I realized that Monday is going to be my late night considering I won’t get home until 6:15. Since we usually eat dinner at 6:30, this created a problem. I decided every Monday we are going to have a baked dish that I can prepare completely on Sunday. Then, when Pete gets home from work, all he has to do is toss it in the oven to be ready for 6:30. Perfect!

I also plan on prepping as much as possible for the other meals. To demonstrate, here’s our meal plan for the week.

To begin, I separated all of our chicken breasts into individual ziploc bags for easy storage and access to portions. I left two out and put the rest in the freezer.

IMG_4276

Next, I sliced up our watermelon, which we bring to work as a snack, and put in a tupperware.

IMG_4278

While the above was occurring, I was boiling water for the mac and cheese.

While the pasta was cooking, I prepared my sweet potatoes for the Sweet Potato Fries. I put them into a tupperware once sliced into fries.

IMG_4279

Next, I prepared the patties for the Southwestern Chicken Burgers and put each into a ziploc bag for the freezer.

IMG_4281

While prepping, I had our Foreman Grill heating up so I could cook the bacon and chicken for the quesadillas.

IMG_4286

Once ready, I chopped both and put in a labeled tupperware for later in the week.

IMG_4294

In the meantime, I completely prepared Monday’s meal from start to finish.

IMG_4282

Once ready, I put it in a tupperware with a post-it instructing Pete what to do.

IMG_4293

Lastly, I chopped our lettuce head and divided portions for the two side salads.

IMG_4295

All of the above, including washing dishes, took me two hours. Not too bad for saving me a lot of stress and time during the week!

Do you meal prep on Sundays or cook each night as you go?

Let me know if you’d like me to post about any of the recipes for the week!

10 thoughts on “Food Prep for the Week

  1. I would love to have the time for food prep, but the most I can do is list the meals we are going to have for the week. I do this before I purchase groceries. This way, my husband and I both know what’s for dinner and if he is in charge of making it, then he knows what website/cookbook to look in! I also workout after work most nights, so slow cooker meals are essential! (That chicken you made looks yummy! I want the recipe!!!)

    • That was my extent in the past too- just meal planning and making a grocery list. But doing the prep ahead of time is definitely saving me a lot of stress so far.
      I’ll definitely take pics when I make the chicken quesadillas on Thursday and post the recipe sometime next week 🙂

  2. When you and your siblings were little and I didn’t get home from work until 5:30 I cooked for the whole week and froze the dinners. Don’t know if you remembered. Anyway, you got my gene. XOXO, Mom

  3. Wow, I’m impressed with how organized you seem to be with workouts for the week/food prep!

    I work from home, so I’m usually able to make meals on a daily basis. Sometimes if a meal requires a lot of prep, I’ll do some of it at lunchtime so that I don’t come home from the gym in the evening ravenous with an hour to go before dinner is ready!

Leave a Reply

