Always Remember

I wouldn’t feel right saying anything else today except we will always remember.

september-11th-photo(source)

Today I will be in school telling my students, who were not yet born on 9/11/2001, about the tragic events of that day. I’ll be telling them that I was in my high school history class when I found out. That I got a phone call from my mom telling me to come home now. That my dad, who worked in Manhattan, was unreachable. That my cousin’s uncle would never be heard from again.

17b76c12833e43e9bf74579f05719aa8(source)

I remember the joy of jumping into my dad’s arms as he arrived home days later. But the pain…and the memories…I’ll never forget.

What I find as a teacher is that when it comes to 9/11, the students just want to talk. Just want a chance to share their stories. And I will be giving them that today.

God Bless America.

4 thoughts on “Always Remember

  1. Beautifully written. I will never forget how we couldnt get in touch with daddy. Terrifying. I remember all the people standing on Route 9 that week holding candles. I will always remember our cousins uncle, god bless him and all the others that lost their life on that tragic day. Not a September 11 that has gone by since then have I not spent countless moments crying and remembering. It’s nice you speak to your students about it. Bella’s school had them where red,white and blue today and she has a special flag project due Friday. I explained it to her in the simplest way I possibly could in order not to scare her, and it didn’t, and for that I’m relieved. I love you Maria

Leave a Reply

