It’s a Family Affair

On Saturday, Pete and I got together with my family down in Howell for dinner. My parents just had a ton of work done in their house, including getting a brand new (and beautiful!) granite table. This was going to be the first time we all had a family meal in the new kitchen. I was in charge of cooking and decided to make stombolis. 5 different kinds of stromboli to be exact. Little did I know it would become a family affair, but an exciting one at that!

On the menu were the following:

  • Pepperoni Stromboli
  • Proscuitto Stromboli
  • Ricotta and Mozzarella Stromboli
  • Roasted Red Pepper and Cheese Stromboli
  • Pepperoni Stromboli on Whole Wheat Dough

First step with making strombolis is to get your dough ready.

IMG_4379

Luckily, I had some help with that. My niece, Isabella, became a pro at rolling out dough!

IMG_4367

 

With some help from her Uncle Pete, she really got the hang of it.

Once they rolled out each dough, I added the ingredients. Mozzarella first, ingredients second, topped by spinach and some more mozzarella. Time to roll those babies up!

IMG_4387

Once rolled, my sister seasoned with salt and pepper and poked holes with a fork into each stromboli loaf.

IMG_4390

My mom added the toppings for the ricotta and mozzarella stromboli and even got my nephew, Cameron, involved!

IMG_4381

It was so cute to watch kids get excited about cooking!

Once all five strombolis were in the oven, the chefs paused for some photographs.

IMG_4392

The guys, who we dubbed “the eaters” wanted in on the fun.

IMG_4393

Silly!

Soon enough, dinner was ready.

IMG_4396

Oh yea, baby!

IMG_4394

Absolutely loved cooking and preparing this meal with my fam- and being able to break in the new kitchen and table together! Ciao!

IMG_4395

Have you ever cooked with kids before?

What is the last meal you made with your family?

3 thoughts on “It’s a Family Affair

Leave a Reply

