Italian Stromboli

After the fun I had this past weekend making stromboli with my family, I wanted to share the recipe with you all! It’s actually fairly simple and once you know the drill, it’s fun to come up with various options for fillings. I’ll share the process for two meat strombolis and will discuss making vegetarian options at the end of this post. Enjoy!

IMG_4396

Ingredients

  • Store bought pizza dough (one dough for each stromboli)
  • Meat (I use pepperoni and/or proscuitto)
  • Shredded Mozzarella
  • Spinach or Arugala
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper

The first thing you need to do is flour a work surface. Get enough flour on your hands and on a rolling pin as well. I usually press the dough into a rectangular shape with my hands before starting to roll, as seen below.

IMG_4379

Once I have my shape fairly laid out, I roll it out with a rolling pin.

IMG_4380

Regarding ingredients, I first sprinkle some shredded mozz on the dough.

IMG_4382

Then, I layer the meat.

IMG_4385

I tend to stick with proscuitto and pepperoni.

IMG_4371

Once the meat is down, I top with a green. I prefer arugala, but cannot always get it so will use spinach in its place. I’ve even used romaine when I had nothing else on hand.

IMG_4373

Then, I top the green with another sprinkle of shredded mozz.

IMG_4376

Finally, I roll up the dough. I start with the thinnest end and roll tight, tucking in the sides as I go. Be sure to pinch the ends shut once all rolled up.

IMG_4377

Using your hands (or a pastry brush if you are fancy) brush on some olive oil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

IMG_4378

Be sure to poke holes into the dough with a fork so it can breathe while in the oven.

Bake in a 425 degree oven for 30 minutes. If you are making more than one stromboli at once, the time may increase.

ResizedImage_1379817341345

Slice your stromboli loaf and enjoy!

Vegetarian variations:

  • Spread pesto (I’ve used regular pesto and sun dried tomato pesto) on the dough. Layer with sliced provolone and spinach. Top with roasted red peppers.
  • Spread ricotta on the dough. Top with shredded mozzarella. Add arugala.

What are some other stromboli variations you would try?

2 thoughts on “Italian Stromboli

  1. Pingback: Homemade Sunday Sauce | The Brooklyn Fig

Leave a Reply

