Butterfinger Cake

I’ve always loved baking…and might I just add I’m pretty darn good at it! That is, until, we moved into our new house. Something was up with the oven. I could never get the temperature right and every time I tried to bake, things burned or were completely dry. The most embarrassing instance was when I tried to make brownies and a cake for Pete’s birthday celebration with his family. The cake didn’t rise and the brownies were as dry as a dessert. I’ll never forget the looks on their faces as they tried to pretend it was good.

Well, ever since we got our new oven, this has completely changed- I’m back to being a baking machine! I’ve made cookies, breads, and muffins…but was still intimidated to try a cake again. Until now! This cake was delicious, decadent, and moist. I’ll be making this for Pete’s birthday next year for sure. Hopefully everyone will give me a chance to redeem myself!

IMG_0144

Butterfinger Cake Ingredients (source)

  • 1 box french vanilla cake mix, plus ingredients to make the cake
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 jar Smucker’s caramel ice cream topping
  • 1 (8oz) tub Cool-Whip
  • 10 fun sized Butterfinger candy bars, crushed (or about 4 regular sized bars)

Start by baking the cake according to package directions in a 9×13 pan. This was the first time (since receiving it at my bridal shower) that I used my hand mixer!

IMG_0134

I don’t know why I kept it packed away for so long- it’s incredibly easy and time saving!

While the cake is baking, combine your sweetened condensed milk with the caramel topping. Mix well and set aside.

IMG_0137

Once the cake is done baking, poke holes in it with a fork. While still hot, pour the milk/caramel mixture on top, letting it seep into the holes. Allow to cool completely.

IMG_0140

Put your Butterfingers in a ziploc bag and crush. Pour about half ontop of the cake.

IMG_0141

Spread the cool whip on top of the Butterfinger layer.

IMG_0143

Sprinkle on the remaining Butterfingers. Chill.

IMG_0145

Sooo amazing!

5 thoughts on “Butterfinger Cake

Leave a Reply

