An Italian Thanksgiving

Holidays are a big deal in my family. Christmas Eve is the biggest, but Thanksgiving is certainly no exception. All of our holidays have influences from our Italian heritage, and I definitely wanted to share a bit of our holiday with you!

Thanksgiving is held at my Aunt Ro and Uncle Irv’s house mansion ;). One of the first things that catches your eye when you walk in is Uncle Irv’s annual menu, dictating exactly what will be served that evening.

IMG_0323

I was thrilled to make the cut this year with my corn casserole, which I must say, was a huge hit! The menu is always hilarious to read since my uncle has fun and clever ways to list each dish.

Once the guests arrive, Aunt Ro has appetizers out and ready to go.

IMG_0327

In addition to the fresh mozzarella, proscuitto and provolone wrapped breadsticks, Italian bread, and roasted red peppers, mozzarella, and chicken subs, she has rice balls and potato croquettes.

For dinner, there is something for everyone, no matter your food preferences!

 

foodTop left would be a Cajun style turducken. Yes, that’s a turkey in a duck in a chicken. Never tried it, but Pete says it’s great. Next would be your classic turkey, followed by manicotti (a vegetarian favorite). In the center is ham made by my cousin’s wife, Jenn. Bottom left is a sweet potato pie. Ah-may-zing! My favorite side dish. In the middle is my mom’s Neopolitan mashed potatoes with proscuitto and mozzarella. Finally, your classic stuffing.

We dubbed this holiday “The Thanksgiving of the Side Dish.” Between my corn casserole and the sweet potato pie, the side dishes were the star of the show!

IMG_0336

My meatless plate. Stuffing, manicotti, potato croquette, and sweet potato pie. I’m kinda drooling looking at this, wishing I had brought home leftovers!

Besides the food, there’s the family! And there are lots of us!

fam

My aunt with her puppy, DJ. Mom and I. My brother holding my nephew, Cameron. The kids “playing” pool. Pete and I. I didn’t get a shot of everyone at the table- but I’ll try to Christmas Eve so you can see the magnitude that is my Italian family!

Finally, on to dessert.

dessert

There was no short of yumminess between my Uncle Sal’s Italian bakery and my cousin’s wife’s cupcake business.

And that, my friends, is an Italian Thanksgiving!

How do you blend American Thanksgiving traditions with those of your culture?

 

3 thoughts on “An Italian Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

