December in NYC

It’s quite lovely living only an hour away from NYC. Why you ask? Many reasons, but a big one being this…

IMG_0370

The stunning Rockefeller Center Christmas tree!

Let’s back up a bit “beep, beep.” On Saturday, I took Pete into the city for our December date (read about our date night policy here). I’ve had these plans for months, mainly because I really wanted to eat the the Rock Center Cafe which overlooks the ice skating rink at Rockefeller Center. I made the reservations months ago so we figured we’d see the tree, eat, and then head to Madison Square Garden for the Rangers vs. Devils game.

On the train, Pete asked me what kinda food was on the Rock Center Cafe menu. Then it dawned on me…I had no idea! I was so excited about the idea of it that picky me never looked at the menu. Well, once we did, and saw mostly meat, we decided we couldn’t go there. Last minute, we snagged a 5:00 reservations at Morell Wine Bar. Sweet.

Once we got into the city, we walked over to Rockefeller Center to see the tree. Along the way, we stopped to take pics at some other famous Christmas sites.Β The big lights came first…

IMG_0350

…so cool! Followed by the big red balls πŸ˜‰

IMG_0353

I’ve always seen pictures of these online but never in person.

IMG_0356

They were really cool!

Next was dealing with the mobs of people trying to get to the tree. Total craziness. I’m talking police trying to control people who were just smashed up against each other walking in all directions. It was chaos and completely unproductive. Luckily we found another route and actually got really close up to the tree!

IMG_0360

Close enough for me to get this shot…

IMG_0361

Cool! We got to see the lights up close and the pulleys that are used to keep the tree in place.

We also got a really nice view of the ice skaters and watched them for a bit.

IMG_0364

Would love to join them, but check out that line!

After seeing the sites, we went to Morell for our reservation. Let me just say, this turned out to be the best last minute switch- we LOVED this place! Both Pete and I started out with glasses of wine recommended by their sommelier.

IMG_0367

Gosh, he’s so handsome. Hubby went with a wine called Etna Rossa that is grown by grapes near a volcano!

IMG_0368

I wanted something to warm me up and their Spiced Holiday Wine did just the trick.

Anyway, onto my meal. If you’ve ever been out to dinner with me, you know it’s rare I clear a plate.

IMG_0369

I cleared this entire plate. And soaked up the sauce in bread. These were chestnut raviolis with a parmesan cream sauce, roasted tomatoes, pine nuts, and a balsamic drizzle. Really just outstanding. We would definitely return to Morell.

After dinner, we walked back towards Penn Station to go to Madison Square Garden. We had bought tickets for the Rangers vs Devils game. On the way in, I paused for a pic with my crush, Henrik Lundqvist.

IMG_0372

Unfortunately, not the real Henrik. But close enough. From the shocked look on my face, you’d think he’s real!

IMG_0378

Our seats were pretty decent with a good view of the entire ice. The game was intense, and ended up being really close- only to have the Rangers lose in overtime. Oh well, it was super fun and a high energy game.

I’d say I planned quite the December date. I’d love to see how Pete is going to beat that in January πŸ˜‰

Check out prior date night posts:

Have you ever visited the Rockefeller Center Christmas tree? What’s a date you’ve been on recently?

9 thoughts on “December in NYC

  1. So fun! I went to NYC in January a few years ago, and I’m pretty sure the tree was already down by then 😦 We did go ice skating though, and saw a couple get engaged on the ice! It was super adorable.

  2. Pingback: Four Course Fondue | The Brooklyn Fig

  3. Pingback: February Date Afternoon | The Brooklyn Fig

Leave a Reply

