Holiday Cookie Swap: Almond Butter Cookies

It’s December and for many of us that means Cookie Swap time! If you’ve got a holiday cookie swap coming up, I have an easy and delicious cookie for you. The recipe is my mom’s and I grew up making them with her every Christmas. They’re perfect for a cookie swap because the cookies are small and each batch yields 3 dozen. You’ll be ready for that exchange in no time!

Ingredients

  • 2  sticks butter
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup almonds, chopped
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 6 tbsp powdered sugar
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

The dough for the cookies comes together easily. First, I creamed the butter in the bowl of my stand mixer using the paddle attachment. Then, I slowly added the flour. Once all incorporated, I switched to the whisk attachment and added the next 3 ingredients.

With your hands, roll small pieces of dough into ball shapes. Arrange on a cookie sheet lined with parchment or a silpat.

IMG_0386

In a 350 degree oven, bake the cookies for 17-20 minutes. I check the bottom after about 17 minutes- you are looking for them to be a golden brown. Remove from oven and flip cookies over.

IMG_0387

Bake for another 10-13 minutes.

While baking, combine the 1 cup powdered sugar and the cinnamon into a bowl. Once the cookies are done, and while they are still warm, coat them in the sugar/cinnamon mixture.

IMG_0394

Put a few cookies into the bowl at a time and toss with a spoon until coated.

IMG_0389

Beforehand, I figured out I needed to make 9 dozen cookies to accommodate the 15 people in the cookie exchange at work. This would provide each person with 7 cookies- 1 to sample and 6 for their cookies trays.

Instead of putting all of the cookies in tins, I decided to make life easier and bought cello bags decorated in snowflakes. This way, all I had to do was give each person a bag instead of transferring cookies in and out of tins. After coating the warm cookies, I put 7 in each bag.

IMG_0390

Once all of the bags were filled, I sprinkled a bit more sugar/cinnamon over top, and then tied with a twist tie.

IMG_0393

I baked on Sunday for a Monday morning cookie swap. It’s a perfect way to sample many different types of cookies and to create beautiful cookie platters for your upcoming holiday parties!

PicMonkey Collage

Are you doing any baking this month? What’s your favorite holiday cookie?

One thought on “Holiday Cookie Swap: Almond Butter Cookies

Leave a Reply

