Potted Potter

Happy Monday! Hope you had a great weekend. I know I did- it was my 30th birthday weekend!

funny-Birthday-awkward-moment

The celebration started on Saturday afternoon. A few weeks ago we purchased tickets to see Potted Potter in Philly. As a huge Harry Potter fan, I’ve been wanting to see this parody ever since I heard about it and pounced on the opportunity to see it for my bday. The show was playing at the Prince Music Theatre.

IMG_0690

We got there about 45  minutes early and luckily found parking right across the street. Once we entered, I kind of squealed with delight when I saw that they sold Butter Brew.

IMG_0691

I mean, what Harry Potter fan wouldn’t want to try butter beer? Welp, this one. Honestly, I’ve heard the butter beer in The Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal is awesomesauce and I decided to hold out until I get there. Because I will go there….someday.

The other fun thing inside the theatre was a big blackboard set up for some voting.

IMG_0693

You could write in which house you liked best and what your favorite spell was. I really wanted to vote for Gryffindor and “alohomora” but felt a little silly getting on line to vote with the kids.

IMG_0695

Sooo I’ll just pose for a picture in front of it instead.

The last pic I snapped was one of the set when we walked in the theatre.

IMG_0694

Most of the items were covered up, to be revealed during the show. Right after I took this pic, a woman got yelled at for taking pictures, so I put my camera away for the remainder of the experience.

And an experience it was! The parody was hilarious and we laughed pretty  much the entire time. The duo covers all 7 books in 70 minutes and it’s spot on while poking fun at the series. Definitely worth seeing if you’re a fan.

See you tomorrow with more birthday weekend recaps 🙂

Which book series are you a big fan of?

3 thoughts on “Potted Potter

  1. Okay, I love the cartoon at the top. My birthday was a few weeks ago, and my friend had the servers at this Bistro sing which was so awkward, and when they walked away that was the first thing I asked… “what are you supposed to do when people are singing Happy Birthday? I don’t even know where to look.”

  2. Pingback: February Date Afternoon | The Brooklyn Fig

Leave a Reply

