Pasta Fagioli

There are countless recipes out there for pasta fagioli, pronounced in my family as “pasta fazool.” Many of the recipes are a soup like consistency, whereas my family makes it more as a pasta dish with beans and a thick sauce. To be honest, I’ve never tasted anything that was as flavorful as the way my family makes it.

Over the weekend, my mom taught me how to make pasta fagioli just like my grandma used to make, just like we both grew up eating it. I’m so glad I learned my nonna’s recipe, as it makes me feel like I’m a continuing traditions that she started long ago- and that’s really special and important to me.

IMG_0850

Now, pasta fagioli is a bit of a process and a recipe that needs to be preplanned. Overnight you need to soak pinto beans in water. The following morning, wash them thoroughly. Fill a large pot with water and add the beans.

IMG_0808

You’ll cook these on high for several hours. As the water evaporates, add more. Cook the beans until soft.

IMG_0812

When the beans are ready, chop fresh parsley and mince 4 cloves of garlic.

IMG_0813

Add to the pot along with oregano and pepper. Also add a bit of vegetable oil and Redpack tomato sauce.

IMG_0815

Turn the heat down and let simmer for a couple of more hours. This is when the magic happens. All those flavors combine and marry in the pot- plus you can’t beat making such a flavorful dish all in one pot!

IMG_0819

Look at that beautiful color! A combination of the beans and the Redpack tomato sauce.

When you are ready to add your spaghetti, turn the heat back up to bring to a boil. While waiting, break your spaghetti into small pieces.

IMG_0822

Add 2 spoonfuls of salt right before adding in the spaghetti.

IMG_0846

Cook until spaghetti is done, about another 20 minutes.

IMG_0848

Serve in bowls alongside some Italian bread for dipping.

IMG_0853

Hope you’ll try the Neopolitan style of pasta fagioli!

Have you ever tried a form of pasta fagioli before? Was it more of a pasta dish or a soup?

3 thoughts on “Pasta Fagioli

  1. Ohhhhhhhhh this whole post makes me smile because pasta fagioli is my grandfather’s favourite!!! (he was a little kid in Italy, WWII). I remember eating it with him, and I was the only one, back then, because none of the other grandchildren liked beans. 🙂 You’ve inspired a future post of mine. xo

Leave a Reply

