Guacamole Live

aka, in my opinion, “the only guacamole recipe you’ll ever need!”

IMG_0120

So, we go to this Mexican restaurant near our house named Sol. They make something called “Guacamole Live” which is when they come to your tableside with their molcajete and make the guac right in front of you, to your liking. I’ve been watching them for years (literally) and finally decided to try it myself for the Super Bowl. So glad I did, I loved it and don’t know why I waited so long to try. Plus, I finally put my own molcajete to use for the first time, which I received for my bridal shower two years ago! Since guacamole is one of my favorite foods, you can bet this molcajete will be making many appearances at future events.

Cast of Characters

  • 4 ripe avocados
  • 1/3 cup red onion, diced
  • 1 roma tomato, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, diced
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
  • Juice of 2 limes
  • Salt

Start by slicing your avocados in half and removing the pits.

IMG_0119

With a spoon, remove the avocado from the brown flesh. Place in the molcajete (or a bowl).

IMG_0875

Chop and dice your remaining ingredients.

IMG_0873

Add to the molcajete.

IMG_0876

Use the grinder to mash together all of the ingredients.

IMG_0877

Serve alongside tortilla chips.

The cool thing about the molcajete is that you don’t really wash it, just rinse with warm water. Overtime all of the flavors seep into the volcanic stone which makes each recipe you create pretty unique! I know I’ll be enjoying this over and over again!

Do you enjoy a classic guacamole, or add other flavors/ingredients? Share your recipe!

6 thoughts on “Guacamole Live

  1. I simply adore that you used “Cast of Characters” as title of your ingredients! And the purple bowl is divine. The recipe, of course, makes me want to buy a bag of beanitos for dipping and eating (right this very moment)! And secretly, it just makes me want to put a dab of ketchup atop it and eat with a spoon. Delish. I don’t comment on too many recipe posts nowadays – but this is simple and delicious looking. Love it!

Leave a Reply

