J Crew Etta Pump

It’s been a longggg time since I’ve posted! I’ve decided to pick up blogging again because I really just need an outlet right now for my fashion obsession. I find myself spending copious amounts of time reading and rereading the J Crew Style Guide, J Crew and Madewell blogs, and stalking the “Looks We Love” sections of the J Crew and Madewell websites.

Lately, my obsession has been the recently sold out Etta Collection Calf Hair Pump.

etta(credit)

Dubbed as the “heels for the girl who only wears flats,” these shoes have had my attention for years. Yes, you read that right, years. However, with a price tag of $350, you could surely understand my hesitation.

It was this dress…the J Crew Hothouse Floral Dress, that finally led to me pulling the trigger on these shoes.

hothouse

I bought this dress two years ago for Christmas Eve- a HUGE holiday in my family that requires a new fancy outfit each year. Ok, let’s be honest, I made that new outfit rule for myself. Nevertheless, I bought the dress (at a hefty pricetag, all silk) and have only worn it once- Christmas Eve 2012. Call me crazy, but I never felt I had the right shoes.

Leopard has been called a neutral, and I couldn’t agree more. The Etta calf hair pumps go PERFECTLY with the Hothouse Floral Dress. Every time J Crew released a picture (on their website, in the style guide, on Pinterest, etc) the dress was paired with Leopard shoes.

jcrew-womens-2012-november-emerald-city-style-guide-collection-lookbook-fall-autumn-02x

Now- back to the shoes. I noticed they went on final sale and decided to wait for an additional percentage off, as J Crew often offers. Welp, I waited too long and they slipped away. I even contacted a J Crew associate and they were GONE. Gone. Thus began my eBay scouring.

If you’re going to buy shoes on eBay, make sure you research size. I typically wear a 6.5 in shoes, however all of my research on the Etta revealed they run a half size too small. Thus, I began searching for a size 7. After a couple of weeks, I found a brand new pair in my size with no insole markings (on eBay, sellers often mark the insides of their J Crew shoes to prevent returns. This really bothers me, which is why I would not settle for a pair with markings). The price was pretty high, but the seller had chosen to also use the “Make an Offer” option. I figured I’d give it a shot and went with a low ball offer of $110. Well, would you believe it, she accepted!

Now the bad news…turns out all of the reviews were wrong, for me at least. They were too big. I should’ve stuck to my original guns and ordered the 6.5. Lucky for me though, I was able to find them at a discounted rate and the 6.5 fits perfect!

I’m thrilled, as I have two winter weddings this year and I plan on wearing the dress and pumps to both.

So- why am I posting all of this when the Etta would be out of your reach too? Because it’s not! J Crew releases the same shoe every couple of years, but under a different name. The Etta is now called the Stella and is available in leopard, houndstooth, and several shades of suede.

B0943_ED1203

For the leopard, you’d once again be looking at that $350 price tag. Since Stella is brand new, there is not much action on eBay. However, they are 30% at J Crew this weekend! If you’re looking for a better deal, I would recommend trying the Stella on in stores so you know your size, and then searching for the Etta on eBay to save yourself some $. Just make sure the insoles aren’t marked! And if you’re in need of a size 7, I have a brand new pair here at my house I can sell you 😉

Leave a Reply

