Silk Shirt Showdown

As a teacher, I have a thang for alliteration 😉

So…I’ve been on a silk shirt kick lately. It started at the end of the summer when I decided I needed wanted more sophisticated and classy pieces in my wardrobe. The first addition I was seeking was a timeless, ivory silk shirt- one that could be in my wardrobe for years and years to come.  After some research, I decided to check out the new Classic Silk Blouse at J Crew.

B2607_NA6744

This shirt is J Crew’s new release of the Blythe shirt. My favorite version of the Blythe was the ivory with polka dots from a few seasons back. This is one of my favorite pieces in my wardrobe.

11352_WE9026_m-1

The Blythe had more of a fitted look, whereas the new Classic Silk Blouse has a longer fit.

Anyhow, when I got to J Crew, they didn’t have my size to try on. Disappointed, I naturally ventured over to Madewell. Upon realizing Madewell didn’t have an ivory silk shirt, I begrudgingly tried on the Silk Spotlight Shirt in the “wet boulder” color, which is essentially a blush pink. It was love at first sight.

silkspot

This shirt has everything going for it- it’s quite versatile and can be worn in many different ways. My vote would be untucked with skinny jeans and boots.

10522646_10100719015499194_2983767267351223353_n

Rockin the cowgirl look for my dad’s birthday!

Another option would be to pair with leggings due to the longer length. I also like how it looks tucked into jeans with a belt. However, you have to be careful because the slits on the side come up pretty high. There are mixed reviews on the site about this, but I kinda dig it- adds a touch of sexiness in my opinion. This can easily be avoided though by wearing a cami underneath. I also really like how it’s longer in the back. Silk is fast becoming my favorite fabric- it’s just so luxurious and I really enjoy wearing it.

Ever since this purchase, the original J Crew silk shirt that I had gone for was still in my mind. However, the ivory color no longer interested me…I wanted green.

classic

With J Crew’s 30% sale this weekend, I made the purchase.

This shirt has a slightly more boxy fit, rather than the flowy feel of the Madewell shirt. The sleeves are also a bit longer. Both shirts run big, so you may want to size down (I purchased a 00 at J Crew and an XXS at Madewell, which is smaller than the normal size I normally wear).

What I like about the Classic Silk Blouse is the single pocket and how the buttons are not exposed. It has the same longer “tail” and side slits as the Spotlight Shirt.

So…who wins the showdown? If you could only purchase one, my vote would go to the Silk Spotlight Shirt.

629417c2e6c3f38c6bacb7ffbf3a6bcf

Why? It’s just such a versatile piece with great quality material. The color is soft and subtle, and fits into any season seamlessly. However, the Classic Silk Shirt at J Crew is a very close second- clearly, as I  purchased both!

The Silk Spotlight Shirt is also 30% off this weekend at Madewell! Winna winna chicken dinna.

Will you be shopping the J Crew and Madewell Columbus Day sales?

Leave a Reply

