Mastering the Tomboy Look

It’s safe to say Jenna Lyons is my personal style icon. Needless to say, I’m always excited to come across an article with any type of styling advice from Jenna.

item0.rendition.slideshowVertical.tomboy-style-jenna-lyons

Spin Magazine recently published an article in which Jenna discussed tomboy style and offers 5 pieces of key advice. Let’s begin, shall we?

1. Choose a well-cut blazer.

item2.rendition.slideshowVertical.tomboy-style-madewellDuskfall Stretch Blazer: Madewell

Jenna suggests a style that isn’t “nipped in at the waist and that [has] a defined line between the shoulder and the front of the lapel.”

2. Be picky with your boyfriend jeans.

item4.rendition.slideshowVertical.tomboy-style-jcrewPoint Sur Vintage Cropped Japanese Selvedge Jean: J Crew

This is something I’ve always struggled with, and maybe I need to take Jenna’s advice and simply not settle! I haven’t been able to find the perfect pair yet, but the J Crew Point Sur certainly look like a winner. Jenna suggests searching for a pair with “authenticity” and a “truly straight cut.”

3. Add a personal touch

Jenna does so by embroidering her initials on all of her button downs- love this idea!

jcrew-white-tuxedo-shirt-in-thomas-mason-fabric-product-1-2189781-029431935_large_flex

 

I’m definitely on the hunt for a timeless, white button down. I’ve been eyeing up the Thomas Mason for J Crew Tuxedo Shirt. If it’s “the one” I’ll definitely consider embroidered initials!

Another great option would be monogramming. My favorite monogrammed item is my Madewell Transport Tote.

tumblr_inline_mmy3bjVwtm1qz4rgp

I have it monogrammed in gold with my initials MVW and receive many compliments on it!

4. Visit the men’s section

My favorite piece of advice from this section was to pair oversized, chunky sweaters with mini skirts. My fashionista friend, Filomena, recently sent me a pic of a French Connection outfit she purchased from Bloomingdales and it fit this advice to a T!

8586772_fpx

5. Wear thick, oversized frames

Definitely a Jenna Lyons staple.

item13.rendition.slideshowVertical.tomboy-style-warby-parkerWarby Parker “Duval” Glasses

One of my favorite pairs would be the Hepcat Shades: Madewell.

84444_WE1295

So, how do you rock the tomboy style?

View the article in its entirety: The Official Jenna Lyons Guide to Mastering Tomboy Style

Leave a Reply

