Habanero White Chocolate Chip Cookies

Recently, a friend of mine brought me a bag filled with hot peppers.

IMG_3536

Along with a bag was a description of each pepper with the corresponding levels of heat. Habaneros, jalapenos, thai peppers, cayennes, and even “the hottest pepper in the world.” Immediately my head was swarming with recipe ideas of sauces, guacamole, and salsa.

However, I remembered her husband making chocolate chip cookies with the peppers the following year and asked her which peppers he used. As it turns out, habaneros pair well with sweet foods, so they were the natural choice for my cookie.

I did some research and found this recipe to base my cookies off of.  They are sweet with a touch of heat. Plus it’s a clever way to use up some of those hot peppers you may have grown!

IMG_3548

Ingredients

  • 3/4 Cup Packed Brown Sugar
  • 3/4 Cup Granulated Sugar
  • 1 Cup Margarine or Butter, Softened
  • 1 Egg
  • 2 1/4 Cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Salt
  • 1/2 Package (6 ounces) White Chocolate Chips
  • 4 – 6 Diced Habanero Peppers (*Note: I used 4)

Start by preheating the oven to 375°. (*Note: I used my convection oven for this. Generally you should bake at 25 degrees lower on convection, so I preheated to 350°.)

With a hand mixer, combine the granulated sugar, brown sugar, margarine, and egg. Then, mix in the flour, baking soda, and salt. The dough will be stiff and somewhat granulated in consistency.

Next, stir in the chocolate chips and diced habanero until well blended. I decided to go with 4 habaneros to play it on the safe side being this was my first time making the cookies. But in my opinion, the heat could’ve been turned up and I plan to use 5-6 the next time I make these.

Using an ice cream scoop, drop dough about two inches apart onto a baking sheet lined with Silpat. If you are using a regular oven, the original recipe calls for you to bake for 8 to 10 minutes or until golden brown around edges. However, on the convection oven, I baked for 20 minutes.

IMG_3549

Let cool. I’m really happy with how these cookies came out and will definitely be making another batch soon. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

