Make-Ahead Egg Sandwiches

Now that Nash is 6 months old and much more active, it’s become increasingly difficult to find the time to make myself a meal.

For breakfast I always have Shakeology, which is an easy superfood shake that I can make in under five minutes. Lunch is where I’m struggling. It’s just a busy time! I literally can’t even find time to scoop some yogurt and granola in a bowl for myself. So what’s started to happen is I just grab something, anything, that’s easy and requires no prep. It could be an apple. It could be a protein bar. It could be a handful of nuts.

I said to my husband the other day, “This is going to go one of two ways. I’m either going to get really fat from just grabbing anything. Or two, I’m going to get really skinny from not having time to eat.” I’m not thrilled with either of those directions and I needed a solution.

Enter make-ahead sandwiches. We used to make these a while back for my husband to have before work, but completely forgot about them. They’re so simple and are done in no time at all.

First, assemble your ingredients…we went with:

  • Whole wheat English muffins
  • Reduced fat pepper jack cheese
  • Turkey bacon (we like Applegate Farms)
  • Eggs

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Crack eggs into full sized muffin tins. We were making 6 sandwiches, so we did 6 eggs. *When we’ve made these in the past, we’ve also added in veggies to the egg…peppers, onions, etc.

IMG_3320

Line your bacon on a baking sheet. Put both the muffin tin and the bacon sheet in the oven. It took about 20 minutes for our eggs to be cooked and about 25 for the bacon. *We prefer our bacon to be super crispy, so adjust the time to your preference!

IMG_3321

While the eggs and bacon were in the oven, I got the muffins set up. All you have to do is pop them open and lay a piece of cheese on top.

IMG_3323

Once your bacon is done, place on top of the cheese.

IMG_3324

Then, put your egg muffin on top.

IMG_3325

Close up!

IMG_3326

Wrap in tin foil and pop in the freezer.

IMG_3327

When you’re ready to eat, remove the foil and pop in the microwave for 2-3 minutes. Lunch is served!

Leave a Reply

