When Life Gives You Lemons

You make LIMONCELLO!

IMG_3352

Just a teaser pic because the limoncello won’t be ready until mid-September, but I promise to share the recipe then when I can show step-by-step pictures.

However, the process of making limoncello requires 7 lemons, in which you only need the lemon peels. I was not about to let the rest of the lemon go to waste, so I made a couple of things…Lemon Butter Cookies and Homemade Lemonade! See the recipes for both below!

Lemon Butter Cookies (source)

IMG_3416

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • ⅔ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons lemon zest
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 2½ cups all-purpose flour
  • Powdered sugar, for dusting

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350˚F.
  2. In a large bowl with a hand mixer, cream butter and sugar until fluffy.
  3. Beat in the egg.
  4. Add lemon zest and lemon juice.
  5. Gradually mix in the flour until incorporated.
  6. Roll dough into 1 inch balls and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
  7. Using the tines of a fork, cross marks in the cookies to slightly flatten them.IMG_3409
  8. Bake cookies for 15 minutes or until cookies are set on top and slightly golden on bottom.
  9. Immediately dust with powdered sugar (sugar will melt into cookies from the remaining heat).
  10. Once completely cool, dust cookies again with powdered sugar.

*Some notes: I cut this recipe in half and yielded 17 cookies. I also felt that the lemon was too subtle and I would use much more lemon juice should I make these again.

Since the cookies only required a few teaspoons of lemon juice, I used the rest to make homemade lemonade. I used my lemon squeezer, which was a Christmas gift from my mama (thanks, mom!) to squeeze the juice from all of the lemons.

IMG_3412

It yielded 1 cup of lemon juice. I then made a simple syrup using 1/2 cup of water and 1 cup of sugar over the stove heat until the sugar dissolved. Pour that into a pitcher with the lemon juice and 8 cups of cold water. Stir well and serve over ice.

IMG_3415

Delicious!

Leave a Reply

